About LSF: Staff

Heather Erickson became President and Chief Executive Officer of the Life Sciences Foundation in July 2012 following the retirement of founder Arnold Thackray. Most recently Heather served as President of MedTech Association leading the development of New York State's first non-profit trade association serving the full range of the Bio/Med community. Heather earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology from Yale University.

Mark Jones is LSF’s Director of Research. He holds a Ph.D in history, philosophy, and sociology of science from the Science Studies Program at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD). Prior to joining the Life Sciences Foundation, he held numerous academic posts. Mark has written a book (in press) on the emergence of San Diego’s biotechnology industry, Biotech’s Perfect Climate: The Hybritech Story.

Michael Hammerschmidt is LSF’s Vice President for Development. Over his thirty-year career in development, Michael has worked with a range of startups, established educational institutions, and healthcare organizations. Most recently, he served as senior advisor to the National Institute for Psychobiology in Israel. Michael is based in Boston.

Donna Lock
Director of Communications
Ian Signer
Director of Education & Partnerships
Brian Dick
Research Associate
Kathleen Osterhout
Office Manager &
Executive Assistant
Gavin Rynne
Research Assistant
Ramya Rajagopalan
Research Associate
Zach Rais-Norman
Systems Coordinator & 
Graphic Design


You have clicked on a link that will take you to another website. Click here to continue and leave the Life Sciences Foundation website.